Founded 1928

86th Annual Session Success!

Tuesday, April 28, 2015 4:36 PM | Anonymous

86th Annual Session Success!

Hats Off to Oral Health!

Here at the Mississippi Dental Hygienists’ Association (MDHA) we have a lot to celebrate, especially after the excellent weekend we had at the 86th Annual Session. 133 dental hygienists, dental hygiene students, and dentists came from across the state to Vicksburg on April 17th to network with each other, interact with 12 vendors, and learn the latest from the MDHA and Mississippi Board of Dental Examiners (MSBDE), as well as new information in the dental hygiene field. 

The morning started with an introduction from Theresa Brandon, MDHA 2015-2016 President and Kristen Parker, MDHA 2015-2016 President-Elect.  The introduction was followed by a presentation from Tricia Osuna, RDH, BSDH, FAADH who had an interesting and exciting approach to being successful in the use of up-to-date dental hygiene products in her presentation: “What is it? How do I use it?: Today’s Dental Products and Treatment Options” 

Attendees were given the opportunity to learn from University of Mississippi Medical Center and Mississippi Delta Community College dental hygiene students during the table clinic competition.  Table clinic topics were:

  • Benefits of Adjunctive Aids Combined with Brushing to Reduce Plaque Formation (UMMC)
  • Patients Want to Know: Is There a Difference in Over-the-Counter and In-Office Bleaching? (UMMC)
  • Unpredictable Puffs- E-Cigarettes- Pros, Cons, and Facts *Competition Winners* (MDCC)
  • The Most Important 5 Minutes of a Dental Exam: Oral Cancer Exams (MDCC)
  • Salivary Biomarkers Used in Oral Cancer Detection (UMMC)

The lunch and learn portion of the day was a casual discussion opportunity with an update from the Executive Director of the MSBDE, Ms. Diane Howell.  During the MDHA business meeting Elizabeth Carr, RDH, MDH was elected as MDHA Treasurer and Cynthia Senior, RDH, M.Ed. was elected Vice President. Outgoing board members Catherine Dunn and Rebecca Timms were awarded for their excellent contributions to the field of dental hygiene in Mississippi. Katherine "Katie" Manno, student at Meridian Community College was recognized as having been selected as the ADHA District VI Student Delegate, which is a prestigious honor.  Katie will represent five states (AL, AR, LA, MS, TN) during the ADHA Annual Session in Nashville this summer.   

Students, elected by their respective faculty members, were awarded as well: 

  • Meridian Community College- Shanna Combest
  • Mississippi Delta Community College- CiCi Carver
  • Northeast Community College- Brittany May
  • Pearl River Community College- Chynna Coghlan
  • University of Mississippi Medical Center- Jennifer “Jenny” Smith

The afternoon session included a presentation by Leigh Ann Wyatt, BSDH, MA. Leigh Ann Wyatt’s discussion titled “Diabetes and Oral Health: An Old Topic with some New Twists” was a great opportunity to acquaint attendees with new findings about diabetes control and overall health.

Door prizes from businesses and other donors from across the state were given away throughout the day with a generous portion of them being won during the “Hats off for Oral Health” game that was played at lunch. Proceeds from this fun event will go to support the Institutes for Oral Health, a charitable educational, research and scientific endeavor of the American Dental Hygienists’ Association.

This event’s success could not have been accomplished had it not been for each and every attendant and especially the volunteers who made it all possible. Perian Bufkin, Natasha Bennet, Brandi Bingham, Amanda Coutch, Melanie Coutch, Julie Haynes, Michelle Phillips, Kala Williamson, Tiffany Jamison, and Kim Worthy, the MDHA thanks you for your time and effort.

Theresa Brandon with CiCi Carver, MDCC Outstanding Dental Hygiene Student

Theresa Brandon with Jenny Smith, UMMC Outstanding Dental Hygiene Student

Theresa Brandon with Kate Manno, MCC Dental Hygiene Student & District VI ADHA Student Delegate representing AL, AR, LA, MS, and TN

Theresa Brandon with outgoing ADHA Delegate, Catherine Dunn

Theresa Brandon with outgoing MDHA Treasurer, Rebecca Timms

From top left: Cynthia Senior, MDHA Vice-President, Tiffany Jamison, Brandi Bingham, Perian Bufkin.  From bottom left: Charlotte Read, MDHA Secretary, and Kristen Parker, MDHA President-Elect

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software