Founded 1928

85th Annual Session Success!

Monday, April 21, 2014 10:50 AM | Anonymous
No, dental hygiene doesn't have to be a pain in the neck...especially after the MDHA 85th Annual Session! 

173 dental hygienists and dental hygiene students from across the state converged on Jackson on April 11th to network, visit the 16 vendors, participate in the student table clinic competition, and attend the MDHA Annual session.

The morning began with a business meeting where Bethnie Hitt, MDHA 2013-2014 President, gave an annual report of the accomplishments of the MDHA.  Afterwards, participants attended the keynote session "Dental Hygiene Doesn't Have to Be a Pain in the Neck", by Bethany Valachi of Posturedontics, Inc.

The lunch and learn educational opportunity was an update from the Executive Director of the Mississippi Board of Dental Examiners, Ms. Diane Howell.  Amber Beck, RDH, BS, Regional Oral Health Consultant with the Mississippi Department of Health, updated attendees on the Mississippi Smiles Sealant program.

(Bethany Valachi with students from Mississippi Delta Community College)

Eleven scientific table clinics presented by second year dental hygiene students from Mississippi Delta Community College and The University of Mississippi Medical Center kept attendees up to date on the latest information pertaining to dental hygiene. 

Scientific Table Clinic Topics Included:
1. Ultrasonic Instrumentation Revealed
2. Exercise for Musculoskeletal Health
3. Erosion Due to Methamphetamine and Carbonated Drinks
4. The Effects of Xylitol on Dental Caries (1st Place Winner)
5. HPV-Associated Head and Neck Cancer (2nd Place Winner)
6. The Importance of Salvaging Avulsed Teeth (3rd Place Winner)
7. At-Home Whitening:  Strips vs. Trays
8. Forensic Dentistry
9. Treatment of Dentinal Hypersensitivity with Lasers
10. Fight to Prevent Early Childhood Caries
11. Tobacco Cessation: Electronic Cigarettes

A special thanks goes to Debbie Glorioso, RDH, and Linda Zakkak, RDH, for volunteering to be the official judges for the Student Table Clinic Competition.

The afternoon session, presented by Dr. Fiona Collins, informed attendees about primary and secondary caries prevention.  Current recommendations along with tips on how to incorporate recent findings from scientific literature were discussed. 

After the afternoon session, the winners of the MDHA Outstanding Student Award were announced, new officers were installed, doorprizes were announced, and the meeting was adjourned.

(Theresa Brandon, RDH, (pictured above) along with Kristen Meyers Parker, RDH were installed as MDHA officers)

Special thanks to:
Theresa Brandon,RDH, MDHA President-Elect
Kristin Meyers Parker, RDH, MDHA Vice President
Bethnie Hitt, RDH, BSDH, MDHA Current Past-President
Kristin Herrington, RDH BS, CMDHA President
Dionne Morgan, RDH, Northeast Mississippi District I President
Heather Ledbetter, RDH, Northeast Mississippi District I Treasurer
Chasity Herod, District II Component President
Rebecca Timms, RDH, BS, MDHA Treasurer
Terri Mangialardi, RDH, BS, MDHA Secretary
Linda Hiter, RDH, BS, MDHA Delegate and Past President
Delia Harwell, RDH, BSDH, Car Tag Chair and Past President
Elizabeth Carr, RDH, MDH, Legislative Chair and Past President
Beckie Barry, RDH, M.Ed, Annual Session Committee Speaker Chairperson
Jamie Wilhite, RDH, Northeast Component

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software